Tuesday, August 16, 2011
Shouldn't boxing be seen positively by MMA fans?
There seems to be alot of contention between boxing fans and MMA fans. Why should there be? Boxing deserves alot of credit because it has been incorporated quite well into MMA. GSP, Jackson, Gomi, Franklin and many more have trained specifically in boxing to supplement what they do. In fact boxing has helped in many ways to keep the sport from being completely dominated by pure grapplers like the Gracie's. While kickboxing is also highly utilized the boxing has one advantage over kickboxing in that it is harder to be taken down from a punch then from a kick. But I don't want to digress kickboxing and boxing are both important. Now given that MMA pro's train in boxing along with other arts why do MMA fans seem to knock the sport? It is a useful tool in an MMA bag and one of the true American aspects of MMA. So why not embrace boxing as a success American style that has a place in MMA rather than denigrate boxing?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment